The Karl DeMasi Sports Report Radio Show Podcasts

The Karl DeMasi Sports Report Radio Show Podcasts
Click on picture to listen to the podcasts of The Karl DeMasi Sports Report Radio Show

Friday, May 27, 2016

Savannah Bananas Peel the Banana 2016 Roster

Savannah Bananas Announce Full 2016 Roster

SAVANNAH, GA. May 27, 2016 – The Savannah Bananas are excited to announce the highly anticipated roster for the 2016 season. Both veterans and underclassmen from Division I schools across the country have committed to playing with the Bananas for their inaugural season.
Joining previously announced pitchers Garrett Lovorn, Addison Albright, Adam Goodman, and Drew Moody are Sam Fichthorn (So. RHP Dartmouth), Paul Kirkpatrick (So. RHP Western Kentucky), Marcus McKoy (Fr. LHP Winston Salem State), Steve Theetge (Fr. LHP Bryant), Greg Hollman (So. RHP Savannah State), Jacob Howell (Jr. RHP Delta State), Adam Scott (So. LHP Wofford), and Coby Weaver (Fr. LHP Dallas Baptist).
“Our pitching staff is sure to have success this summer, especially against wood bats. Our philosophy on the bump is simple; I want to see them compete every single pitch, every single inning, and every single game all summer long,” said Coach Sean West.
Middle Infielders include Jeff Nellis (Jr. Long Beach State), Christian Hollie (So. UTA), Cal Baker (Jr. GA Southern), Rylan Bannon (So. Xavier), and Clay Dungan (Fr. Indiana State).
In addition to Logan Moody, Garrett Nelson (Fr. 1B/OF Long Beach State) and Angel Camacho (Fr. 3B Jacksonville U.) will be joining the roster as utility players.
For outfielders, the Bananas have signed Josh Ragan (Fr. Dallas Baptist), Jameson Hannah (Fr. Dallas Baptist), Will LaRue (So. Xavier), Connor Stephens (Fr. Jacksonville U.), Jackson Ware (So. Mercer), and previously announced Nick Choruby.
“Grayson Stadium is a large ballpark, so we will force the other team to beat us with their bats and will rely on the speed of our OF’s to cover ground and track balls down,” comments West, “We will have the fastest OF in the league. Three of our OF’s run a 6.5 second 60 yard dash, which is flying! Our remaining OF’s are also 6.7/8, which is moving as well.”
Adam Gauthier (RS Jr. Dartmouth) and Joey Thomas (So. Cincinatti) will be joining Dayne Sommer at catcher.
Rounding out the roster are temps Elliot Forde (RHP Misericordia), Hunter Bening (1B Mercer), Tanner Johnson (OF Denison), Josh Knies (RHP Mercer), Ryan Wieligman (MI Cowley County JC), Ryan Hagen (MI Mercer), Jesse Bogacz (LHP Kenyon), Ryan Flores (RHP Richland JC), Beau Sulser (RHP Dartmouth), Kyle Rogalski (RHP Miseridcordia), Clint Hardy (UTL Augusta U.), Christian Vann (LHP Chatt Valley), and previously announced Braden Shewmake.
West also expects the team to be strong on offense, “We will be amongst the league leaders in stolen bases, and fans will see their Bananas playing small ball, especially early in the game.”
Not only are these players great athletes, they are also upstanding members of their communities. They plan on immersing themselves in Savannah’s unique culture and contributing to their summer home through community service projects. Says West, “All of our players are quality young men that will not only represent their families well, but their coaches, respected universities, and in return, the great city of Savannah.”

The Savannah Bananas team will be available for a special meet and greet at the Fan Fest on May 30th at Grayson Stadium from 5:00-7:00PM with members entrance at 4:00PM.  The Fan Fest is free with free food and free Sun Country Amusements Fun Zone for kids.
Opening Night is set for June 2nd and very limited tickets remain.  For more information and to purchase tickets fans can visit or call 912-712-2482.
The Savannah Bananas are owned by Fans First Entertainment who also owns and operates the Gastonia Grizzlies of the Coastal Plain League.  The Grizzlies have led the league in attendance the past three seasons, been named Organization of the Year and recognized regionally and nationally for unique from promotions and their fan experience.

The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s hottest summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 20th season in 2016, the CPL features 16 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had nearly 1,300 alumni drafted and 82 of those – including 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander – make their Major League debut; while another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at and follow us via Twitter @CPLBaseball.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Wetherington Chiropractic